Tags

, , , ,

On one of my visits to my sister’s place, I was offered a packet of roasted flaxseeds and since then I have become a devotee of these tiny fatty seeds.

I called it flaxseed madness because I eat at least a handful of it every day. As I write this, I’m nibbling. I have used flaxseeds in cakes, sandwiches, salads and even advised my family to eat them. My aunt is slowly catching up with the advice. Looks like I’ll become a flaxseed expert.

I have read a lot on flaxseeds but was hesitant to try until my sister offered me. Certain food items are difficult to get and apart from anything to do with baking, I certainly won’t hunt for flaxseed in Delhi markets.

So the flaxseeds made it to my place and it was devoured in two days. I remember that packet weighed about 200 grams and cost 70 rupees. If you think this is tad costly, then go for the not-yet roasted ones. I got them from INA market and roast it myself. They are sold loose but cheaper; 150-170 rupees per kilo.

flax bread

 

flax cakeWhy you should not neglect flaxseeds?

  1. Rich in Omega-3 Fatty Acids
  2. High in Fiber
  3. Low Carb
  4. High in Vitamins

To know more about the benefits of flaxseeds, read here

With flaxseed madness soon I should be able to come up with yummy recipes. Till then, get your dose of these healthy seeds and do share how you eat them.

 

 

 

